Claims
Maxorin benefits: the one claim, checked
One claim is printed on the front of this bottle, with one asterisk after it. This page takes it seriously, says what would have to be published for it to mean anything, and reports what is there to hold it up.
The front panel reads “Male Performance Support*” and nothing else in the way of a promise. That is a single, hedged, structure-function claim, and by the standards of this category it is remarkably restrained. It also names no mechanism and no substance, and the formula behind it has no amounts published for 570 of its 601 mg — about 95% by weight — so there is very little for the claim to attach to in either direction.
The only claim on the bottle
Most products in this aisle carry four or five starred lines across the front panel. This one carries a single line: MALE PERFORMANCE SUPPORT*, set under the brand name, above the words dietary supplement and a capsule count. The asterisk points at the disclaimer, which is printed in full rather than abbreviated:
“These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.”
Printed on the Maxorin label, and required of any product making a structure-function claim
Four things are worth noticing before anything critical is said. The claim is hedged — support, not improves, not restores. It is singular: no second claim, no bulleted stack on the side panel. It carries its asterisk, correctly placed. And the disclaimer is complete, with the “diagnose, treat, cure or prevent” clause intact rather than trimmed to fit the artwork. That combination is not common. It is the cheapest thing in the world to print four claims instead of one, and somebody here chose not to.
Credit where it is due, stated plainly
A page that only criticises is not much use to a buyer, so the credits go first and without hedging of our own. Several things here are done better than the category average, and all of them cost the manufacturer something to do.
- One claim, not four, with the disclaimer printed in full rather than abbreviated to fit the artwork.
- Both Daily Value percentages are arithmetically correct. Niacin at 20 mg against a Daily Value of 16 mg is 125%. Zinc at 11 mg against a Daily Value of 11 mg is 100%.
- The chemical form is given for both nutrients — “as Niacin” and “as Zinc Oxide”, the second specific enough to be checked against the research.
- Species and plant part are printed for all four botanicals, which is what makes any lookup possible at all.
- The Other Ingredients line is complete — Hypromellose (Vegetable Capsule), Microcrystalline Cellulose, Magnesium Stearate, Silicon Dioxide — rather than trailing off.
- The caution block is the fullest this desk has read in this batch, and it was not required to be.
Hold that list in mind. The criticism that follows is not that this label is careless, but that a careful label was used to publish a very small part of the formula.
What a claim has to attach to
A structure-function claim says that something in the bottle supports something in the body. To check one, a reader needs three things: the substance, the amount, and a published finding at or near that amount. Take away any of the three and the claim becomes unfalsifiable rather than false — it cannot be tested, so it cannot be wrong. The front panel supplies none of the three by itself, which is normal. The question is whether the rest of the label does.
No mechanism is named anywhere on the label
The front panel does not say what it supports, or how. Neither does the Supplement Facts panel, which carries figures and names rather than sentences, and there is no side-panel paragraph explaining the idea.
No substance is attached to the claim
Not one of the eight declared ingredients is tied to the claim on the artwork; the asterisk leads to the disclaimer, not to a row. Whether the niacin, the zinc or any of the six blend items is meant to be the reason is not stated and cannot be inferred.
And for six of the eight, no amount is published
The blend is one row: six ingredients, a total of 570 mg, no individual figures. That is lawful, and why it is lawful is finding 1. Even if a reader decided which ingredient the claim was about, there would be no amount to hold against anything.
So the honest summary is not that the claim is untrue, but that it is unattached — a different and more interesting problem than an exaggerated promise.
Five per cent of the capsule can be checked
The shape of the disclosure, drawn to scale on a logarithmic axis because the three figures are too far apart to share a linear one.
A capsule declares 601 mg of material. The two rows a buyer can actually check — niacin and zinc — come to 31 mg between them, about 5% of the total. The remaining 570 mg, roughly 95%, is a single row naming six ingredients and no amounts. Nothing here is against the rules: the FDA requires an individual weight only for ingredients with an established Daily Value, which is precisely why niacin and zinc are itemised and the other six are not. The chart is what that rule looks like when it is used to its limit.
A per-capsule price, a per-day cost, a comparison against the shelf — all value judgements, and every one needs to know what is in the capsule. Here that covers 31 mg out of 601. The other 570 mg is not missing from the bottle and its six ingredients are named; what is missing is every number attached to them.
The two rows that are real, and what they are
The itemised part is genuinely checkable. Neither row is a performance ingredient in any sense the cited sources support; both are ordinary nutrients at ordinary amounts.
| Row | Printed | Daily Value | Upper limit | What the sources say |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin B3 (as Niacin) | 20 mg | 125% — correct against a DV of 16 mg | 35 mg | The form is not stated. “Niacin” covers nicotinic acid and niacinamide. Set out on the safety page. |
| Zinc (as Zinc Oxide) | 11 mg | 100% — correct against a DV of 11 mg | 40 mg | The least absorbed of the common forms: the NIH puts zinc oxide at 50% against approximately 61% for citrate or gluconate. |
Both sit below their Tolerable Upper Intake Levels with room to spare, and both percentages check out to the digit. That is the whole of what this label lets a reader verify: real, correct, and about a twentieth of the capsule.
One thing the two rows genuinely do give you
A person short of zinc or niacin will be less short of them after thirty days of this. That is a nutrient statement, not a performance one. A multivitamin would do the same for a good deal less money, and would usually publish every amount on it.
The six rows that carry no amounts
The blend is 570 mg and six named ingredients: L-citrulline, L-carnitine, pine bark extract, maca root extract, grape skin extract and saffron stigma extract. Species and plant part are printed for all four botanicals, which is careful work. No individual weight is printed for any of the six, and none is required to be.
The descending-order rule does leave something behind. Because the FDA requires blend ingredients to be listed “in descending order of predominance by weight”, an ingredient in position n cannot weigh more than 570 divided by n. Those forced ceilings are the only quantities this label permits anyone to state, and the full table is on the label page. A ceiling is not an amount, and this page will not treat one as though it were. What can be said about the six, using only the sources this site cites, is short:
- Four of the six return no monograph at the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements or at NCCIH under the names printed — L-citrulline, pine bark, maca and saffron. Absence of a monograph is absence of information, not evidence against them.
- One is named by a plant part the available monograph does not cover. The label says grape skin; the NCCIH page is about grape seed.
- One has a substantial file, and it does not help. L-carnitine is second in the blend, so it cannot exceed 285 mg. The NIH records performance studies using 1 to 4 grams, and says healthy adults do not need supplemental carnitine because the liver and kidneys make enough.
- None of the four botanicals carries a standardisation, so even a published amount could not be converted into a research figure.
Which brings the page back to the claim. It stands over two nutrients at nutrient amounts and six ingredients with no amounts, four of which have nothing published about them at the bodies this desk reads. That is not a verdict on the ingredients but on what a buyer can find out.
What this product can honestly offer
A restrained front panel
One hedged claim and a complete disclaimer. A buyer who wants to know they are not being shouted at gets that here, and it is worth something.
Two correct nutrient rows
20 mg of niacin and 11 mg of zinc, the form given for each, the percentage right for each, both under their upper limits.
Botanicals named to species and part
Pinus pinaster bark, Lepidium meyenii root, Vitis vinifera skin, Crocus sativus stigmas. The next column, a standardisation, is missing.
A sixty-capsule pack and a sixty-day window
The smallest pack sold is two bottles: sixty capsules against a sixty-day window. That arithmetic is the pricing page.
What it cannot offer is a description of what “support” would feel like, or a mechanism, or a timeframe. No trial of this formula exists. That is why this site publishes no timeline at all and why claim accuracy scores 2 out of 5 despite the restraint on the front panel.
The last word belongs to the label, because it governs everything above: “These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.”
Read the blend row first, then decide
Thirty capsules, one a day. Two named nutrients with percentages that both check out, and then 570 of the 601 milligrams in the capsule inside a proprietary blend with no amounts on it. The live price and the 60-day return terms are both on the seller’s checkout screen.
60-day window · Questions first? Call +1 (323) 348-1373